Department of Education - Archives Office of Tasmania

Brief Guide 4: Education Department - indexes, registers and correspondence.

This is a list of the most useful records when researching education related matters. Most of the early correspondence has not survived but the registers give useful information such as dates for particular events and references to out letters in the letter books. This list is not comprehensive. 

ED6
 
Index to general correspondence (ED1, ED2, ED4,) ED6/1 is an index to registers ED3/1-7

ED6/2 is an index to registers ED5/1-2

ED6/3 is an index to register ED26/1

1855 - 1905 
ED3 Registers of general correspondence 1855 - 1905
ED5 Registers of correspondence, new series 1899 - 1904
ED26 Register of correspondence concerning particular schools and subjects Feb 1904 - 1905
ED1 General correspondence (large gaps see inventory) 1875 - 1904
ED2 General correspondence - teachers file 3713 (indexed in general index in search room) 1862 - 1905 
ED4 General correspondence, new series (large gaps see inventory)  c1896 - 1904
ED13 Secretary’s and Director’s letter books (Reference is made to these in the registers ED6 ) Mar 1857 - Feb1947 
ED8 Register of general correspondence, A series c1892 - c1904
ED7 General correspondence, A series (only 3 files have survived.) 1903 - 1904 
ED27 Index to references to teachers in correspondence (ED9) c1910 - 1916
ED28
 
 
 
Indexes to general correspondence (ED9).

ED28/1 General

ED28/2 Teachers 

ED28/3 Schools

1905 - 1916 
 
ED9 General correspondence 1905 - 1916
AD282
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Index to correspondence - O series (ED10).

Series Description - Subject cards registering correspondence. The correspondence has not survived in tact after 1939 but a few cards occasionally give a subsequent file reference which can be found in ED 183 eg. Apple festival 963. There are occasional annotations eg. a tick (or "V") means that the file has stayed in the current records system ("V" for vault) and was not transferred to the ED 183 series (which is the Department’s "Archive" system). The letter "R" means that the records went to a regional office. The subsequent file reference to ED183 (always a single number) is sometimes prefixed with a "T" but not always. Files with the archive numbers 1 - 8000 are in ED183. Numbers above 8000 are retained by the Department and permission must be obtained from the Department to access them

1917 - 1961
AD294
 
 
Index to correspondence on the conveyance of children to school

Series Description - Index cards organised alphabetically by school. "O" file numbers and later "C" file numbers (the "C" denotes conveyance). Early files can be found in the ED10 series. Later files are in AC107

1932 - 1970 
AD335 Alphabetical index to schools Files referred to here can be found in ED10, ED11 and ED183 1914 - 1981
AD347 Alphabetical index to closed schools. Files referred to here will be found in ED10, ED11 and ED183 1915 - 1974. 
ED12 Registers of inward correspondence  Mar 1905 - Feb 1939
ED10 Correspondence "O" series 1917 - 1939
ED11 Correspondence (School series) files 3 - 737 1917 - 1939
AD297 Subject index to correspondence

Series description - Alphabetical subject index to the "subject index with main headings" (AD331) which leads to the numerical card register (AD332). The numerical sequence cards (with 3 tiered numbers eg. 7/4/1) give the Department’s "transfer" number enabling the files to be found in ED183. The sequence for searching should be AD297 then AD331 then AD332 then ED183. Sometimes it is unnecessary to go to both AD297 or AD331. The object of searching these cards is to get to the Department’s "transfer" (archive) number which is the only way to find files in ED183. Occasionally the Department’s transfer no. is found on these cards - AD297. Files with the archive numbers 1 - 8000 are in ED 183. Files with numbers above 8000 are retained by the Department and permission must be obtained from the Department to access them 

1912 - c1968
AD331 Subject index to correspondence with main headings. There are 41 main subject headings each assigned a number. Within these divisions there are other cards with sub- headings organised alphabetically and with sub-numbers 1912 - 1968
AD332 Numerical register of correspondence 1912 - 1968
ED183 General correspondence files. Organised by archives numbers which were allocated by the Agency. For correspondence relating to education prior to 1855 see the records of the Colonial Secretary’s Office. 1912 - 1968