Brief Guide 23: citation of references
References to records held in the Archives Office should identify them as such, and should be sufficiently detailed to enable the specific record to be readily identified. The method and reference elements we recommend are as follows:
- Archives Office of Tasmania (AOT if abbreviated)
- name of the record creating agency
- record series title, full item description, including any file numbers, names, or other relevant identifying features
- relevant date or page number
- Archives Office reference code for the series
- it may also be necessary to describe the specific document in the item, such as a letter in a file, or the minutes of a specific meeting in a minute book.
Series codes will generally appear on the records but Archives Office staff should be asked if there is any ambiguity about this or about the full item description.
Such reference citations will provide readers with some descriptive context for the statement to which the reference relates and also enable effective retrieval for others wishing to view the record.
If a copy of the record is displayed, or in a publication, then we suggest that only an abbreviated citation is needed using Archives Office of Tasmania: followed by the series reference code and any additional item identifiers that are helpful.
Some examples of full citations are given below:
- Archives Office of Tasmania: State Immigration Office: General correspondence files, migrant accommodation file number M253, 26 October 1949 – 4 March 1951. (Series Ref: AA77)
- Archives Office of Tasmania: Governor's Office: Despatches received from the Secretary of State, Despatch No. 33, 6 November 1839. ( Series Ref: GO1)
- Archives Office of Tasmania: Beaconsfield Town Board: Minutes of meetings, 10 November 1898. (Series Ref: LA1/7)
- Archives Office of Tasmania: Inspection of Machinery Department: Registers of the inspection of mine, mill and manufacturing machinery, 1909 - 1914, page 47. (Series Ref: LID14)
- Archives Office of Tasmania: Diary of John Stanfield, South Esk, 1870 .(Series Ref: NS1268)